Code never runs past AcceptBluetoothClient

Topics: Bluetooth - Microsoft
Feb 9, 2014 at 10:55 PM
I'm a beginner in both bluetooth and 32feet.NET's library programming. I am building an Android app that will connect to my .NET server to send messages. I am using the following starter code to try to gather messages sent to the server:
private Guid service = new Guid("{860c8850-91c7-11e3-baa8-0800200c9a66}");

private BluetoothClient client;
private BluetoothListener listener;

public BluetoothManager()
{
        BluetoothRadio.PrimaryRadio.Mode = RadioMode.Connectable;

listener = new BluetoothListener(service);
        listener.Start();

client = listener.AcceptBluetoothClient(); // Never passes this line
        Console.Writeline("Bluetooth client accepted - Never prints");

Stream peerStream = client.GetStream();
        var wtr = new StreamReader(peerStream);
        var line = wtr.ReadLine();
        MessageBox.Show(line);
}
As stated in the comments and WriteLine, the code never passes the AcceptBluetoothClient call. I've tried other peoples' suggestions on this forum who seem to have had the same problem (I believe changing the guid fixed it for them) but haven't had luck, as changing the guid makes no difference. It doesn't throw an exception or any errors, it just stops at that line.

Does AcceptBluetoothClient block until it receives a connection from a client? It might just be that my server is waiting for a connection properly, but doesn't receive the message properly from the client side. Adding to this, if I want to have multiple connections from multiple clients, do I need to create a new BluetoothClient for each object, or how would that work?

Thank-you for your help
Developer
Feb 10, 2014 at 8:56 AM
Yes AcceptBluetoothClient block until it receives a connection from a client. You need to use the same UUID/Guid on both sides of the connection. Does the Android client connect or fail?