This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

How to Determine Bluetooth Serial Port

Topics: Bluetooth - BlueSoliel, Bluetooth - Microsoft, Bluetooth - Other, Bluetooth - Stonestreet, Bluetooth - Widcomm/Broadcom
Feb 11, 2013 at 2:47 PM
Hi,

I have been testing out both 32feet.net and In the Hand as ways of manipulating Bluetooth. I'm not an expert on Bluetooth but appreciate that there are differences with the Microsoft and Widcomm stacks, and also different Bluetooth Manager applications.

What I really need is a common way to determine which serial port has been assigned to a device. The underlying Windows CE/Mobile operating system seems to know this as I can open a serial port within an application and this will make a connection to whichever Bluetooth device is assigned this serial port. However, within a Visual Studio application, I don't necessarily know which serial ports have been assigned to which devices. Is there a way to enumerate all the trusted Bluetooth devices and determine which serial ports are assigned to them?

Many thanks
Feb 11, 2013 at 4:57 PM
Hi,

I have continued to look into this, and thought I'd found a solution...

If I call BluetoothClient.DiscoverDevices, I can enumerate all the known Bluetooth devices. Then, for each one (that's authenticated and remembered) I can call BluetoothEndPoint and pass in the device's address and BluetoothService.SerialPort. This returns data about the end point, including a Port field which I thought would contain the serial port name/number. This code runs and returns information, but the Port is always 0

Am I doing something wrong with this code. Or is there a better/easier way to determine which serial port is assigned to the Bluetooth device?

Thanks
Developer
Feb 11, 2013 at 10:44 PM
Edited Feb 11, 2013 at 10:47 PM
How about Getting Virtual COM Port Names