Setting up a Widcomm Virtual serial port.

Topics: Bluetooth - Widcomm/Broadcom
Apr 27, 2012 at 9:21 AM

Hi,

I'm relatively new to programming  but using 32feet I've managed to Discover, Pair  and Setup a virtal serial port in VB on the MS stack.

I need to be able to do the same on a widcom stack..

I've read the article

http://32feet.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Bluetooth%20Serial%20Ports

but i'm not 100% sure how to correctly implement it  - does anyone have some working code I could use as a reference ?

Below is a subroutine I use after the device has been "discovered" and has been selected from a listbox - it works for MS Stack but for Widcomm the line

" device.SetServiceState(InTheHand.Net.Bluetooth.BluetoothService.SerialPort, True)"    is not working  - can anyone tell me what the equivelent for the Widcomm stack would be ?

Any help or working examples would be most gratefully received ...

regards

BG.

here is my code:

Dim cli As New InTheHand.Net.Sockets.BluetoothClient
Dim device As Sockets.BluetoothDeviceInfo = Me.ListBox1.SelectedItem
Dim addrr As BluetoothAddress = BluetoothAddress.Parse(device.DeviceAddress.ToString)
Dim state As Boolean
        state = True

Dim ep As New BluetoothEndPoint(addrr, InTheHand.Net.Bluetooth.BluetoothService.SerialPort)
Dim PerformanceCounter = 0
Dim pairsuccess = False
Dim pairAttempts = 0

TextBox2.Text = device.DeviceAddress.ToString
TextBox1.Text = Me.ListBox1.SelectedIndex

MsgBox(addrr.ToString)
        While (Not pairsuccess) And (pairAttempts < 3)

If (InTheHand.Net.Bluetooth.BluetoothSecurity.PairRequest(addrr, "0000")) Then
                pairsuccess = True
            Else
               pairsuccess = False
            End If
            MsgBox(pairAttempts)
            pairAttempts = pairAttempts + 1

End While

If (pairsuccess = False) Then
            MessageBox.Show("Unable to pair.")
            ' System.Windows.Forms.Application.Exit();
        ElseIf (pairsuccess = True) Then